North Kerala is abundant in the natural beauty – Mayuri from Japan

Mayuri from Japan

North Kerala is abundant in the natural beauty – Mayuri from Japan

North Kerala is abundant in the natural beauty like forest, sea and wild animal.  Traditional Folk ritual is preserved well and we can see the…

READ MORE
hunter pamela

what a peaceful house Pamela Hunter from Canada

Hi…what a peaceful house and such interesting wonderful people!  i am getting to meet many of the warm and friendly people in your community….a delight!…

READ MORE
ramakrishnan and andrea

Thank you for your good organisation – Ramakrishnan and Andrea

Hello Santhosh. Thank you for your good organisation of bringing us to interesting Theyyam events.
Unni was very helpful & so was the driver.
This is only the begining & I am sure I will be needing your services in the future also.
Regards & best wishes
Ramakrishnan

READ MORE
Ian

Just wanted to thank you – Ian S. Mozdzen

hi Santhosh!
just wanted to thank you again for the theyyam tour experience. We are very happy.
I also wanted to inquire further in regards to the extended stay and research concept.

Ian

READ MORE
eshantha

Thank you!

I’m just writing to say a big thank you to you and Mr. Pavanan for organizing my stay in Kannur last week, and arranging my…

READ MORE
Sasha & Family from Mumbai

Sasha & Family from Mumbai

The staff were absolutely wonderful and incredibly helpful and attentive. We had a fantastic time with them and the boat and backwaters were just spending….

READ MORE
hiroko Japan

I’m back safely to Japan!

I’m back safely to Japan! Thanks to u all, I had a great time in Kerala!!  Staying at home stay was really wonderful experience for…

READ MORE
Barbara Paul from USA

Barbara Paul from USA

I have to say the the Theyyam experience with Travelkannur was handled brilliantly. It was truly a sensational four days that you all arranged for us. The theyyams you chose for us to attend just could not have been more stunning and moving. There were many different theyyams at each temple and each one had gorgeous costumes, headdresses, and exceptional drumming. I was able to photograph them all from up close. You were very receptive to my requests for small temple theyyams where we could interact with the people and be close to the dancers. The daytime ones were beautiful, and we could photograph the preparations as well as the dances.

READ MORE

Vijayanad (Photographer) – UK : Reviewed on Nov 2015

Thank you Santhosh for arranging everything for me and for this wonderful experience. As an amateur photographer I had requested Santhosh to help me with a place where I could photograph few forms of Theyyam. He arranged it well at Sri Kuruvapalli Ara – Pekkadam Kasaragod on 6th Dec. Narayanchettan picked me from hotel early morning 7:00AM due to which I had an opportunity to click snaps of make-up and decoration followed by performance. I took the train tickets to Kannur, rest everything was arranged well by Santhosh and team, Very much recommended. Thank you very much…will surely visit again.

READ MORE

Senthil (Photographer) – Bangalore

Its been such a nice experience for me to visit my long term wish theyyam… Travel kannur is having set of team with guides and good contacts to collect information about theyyem in various area. My two days visit in the month of February I can able to see 22 theyyam type. In my visit I came to know lot of history about theyyam too, through this travel kannur

READ MORE
kanakose

Kanakose – Japan : Reviewed on 24th Jan 2015

Kannur district in the north of Kerala is famous for “Theyyam”. It is not a entertainment show for the tourists, but real ritual of faith for the local people. At the same time, it’s a great photogenic subjects for both tourists and Indians. If you are interested in the ethnology and folklore, or festivals and performing arts, I highly recommend to go to see Theyyam. You can taste a little National Geographic photographer!! I visited Kannur in the end of the year for viewing and shooting Theyyam for 2 days. TRAVELKANNUR, the agent was my private guide. They’re the expert in this field having perfect knowledge and information about Theyyam which is taken place in the isolated temples in this remote area according to Malayalam calendar (not fixed date every year). Though I was a busy traveler having very short holiday, I could have most enjoyable experience with the assistance of them. I think it’s difficult to go to see Theyyam by yourself. Coz it’s hard to identify the site and date exactly for foreigners. Definitely you need a car and local guide. Also the villagers are very humble but open-minded. They allow aliens like me to enter the temple and to shoot their gods, even they teach me a photo spot in the make-up tent. To respond to their generosity, we have to keep the rule and manner when we view or shoot Theyyam. Remember it’s their living gods. Enjoy…!

READ MORE

Victoria – UK : Tripadvisor Review

This event was fascinating . There are several thought Kerela and the one we went to started very early in the morning. We were up at 4am and out on tuttuks before dawn which alone was rather exciting for our two 8year olds. The ceremony was full of dancing, blessings, a fire pit and tourches. All in all a great cultural experience so ask your guesthouse to arrange. Be aware this can take several hours- ours finished around 8am. Visited March 2015

READ MORE

Bablu Singh – Denmark

I were here in March 2015 with my boys. It was a amazing experience, so Well planned by people from Theyyam Tour. Thanks a lot folks! I am sure, I will be back with my family! – Bablu Visited February 2015

READ MORE

Silas S Visited March 2015

My boys and I were here in March 2015. It was a great and awesome experience, very Well planned by people from Theyyam Tour. Thanks a lot! I am sure, I will be back! Visited March 2015

READ MORE

Fabian – US

Seeing a good theyyam was one of the highlights of my trip to southern India. They are often late at night, but it’s worth it. Not all theyyams are the same. The second one I went to had many fewer people and was not as spectacular as the first. So it’s worth asking to find out which are the best ones to go to as there are often more than one a night during the season. Visited February 2015

READ MORE

PA306 from UK : Tripadvisor Review

We were fortunate enough to witness a Theyam ritual involving the dancer kicking hot coals with his bare feet. The locals were so friendly and…

READ MORE

From Poland – Tripadvisor Review

Given that this kind of ancient ritualistic event only takes place in this part of Kerala, being here and not witnessing Theyyam would be a…

READ MORE
elizabeth

Elizebeth from Turkey – Wonderful Experience

We were picked up at the train station and immediately taken to a Theyyam. It was unlike any experience I have ever seen and i felt grateful and excited to see such a wonderful ritual first hand. We watched the rituals, which were amazing and had the opportunity to talk with the other people at the rituals, they were all so kind and eager to help us understand more about what we were seeing. The second Theyyam we went to was the Tiger Dance and other rituals late at night, we were there through about 2:30am and it was such an incredible experience. We were the only westerners there, definitely not a tourist attraction, this is local culture and religious rites as they have been for a very long time. We were careful to dress appropriately and be respectful observers of these amazing rituals. We had an incredible time!!! Visited January 2015

READ MORE
filip

Filipe – Theyyam Researcher and Ms. Madina Ziganshina

As a researcher on performance I was asked to give an opinion on Theyyam, a ritual that I had the opportunity to study.
Theyyam is an ancient ritual performed by the traditional lowest castes of the once highly stratified Kelala society, but involving most of the other social groups. It combines Dravidian and Arian elements and it is integrated in Hinduism in a most peculiar way. It is old (but not 7.000 years, don’t believe everything you’re told) and it has been adjusting along the years, like any other ritual.

READ MORE

Seafare74 from California : Tripadvisor Review

Theyyams are Hindu ceremonies that are open to tourists but not really geared towards them. We were the only non Hindus present in the extremely…

READ MORE

Olivia from UK

Difficult to describe. Has to be seen to be believed. A spiritual extravaganza with amazing make-up and costumes. Lucky enough to see one in the…

READ MORE

Mehar, Kokila, Diana

The program on “Experiential Learning on Journalism” for the COMMITS media College (Convergence Institute of Media Management and Information Technology Studies ),Bangalore was a resounding success. The experience for the students who did the documentary on “Theyyam ” was life changing.

READ MORE

Rhea Favero (Freelance Photographer) & family

It really was such an amazing experience to see the Theyyams and to meet some of your friends and family, who were so friendly and hospitable. Thank you very much for organising this for us.

READ MORE

Ania

Dont think i forgot abaut Theyyam- I think abaut it a lot. And abaut lovely people i meet in Kannur and Nileshwar. I started to write abautTheyyamit, though it is not easy for me at all. Not easy to touch it, I would say. So I ask you for some more patience

READ MORE

Walker Gregory & his film crew

I just wanted to let you know that everything went perfectly fine, even with those last minute schedule changes. As soon as we were able to get in contact with Redish, everything was sorted.

READ MORE

Stephan Mueller

Thank you very much for your help. Now we are back in Switzerland, with a lot of new and deep impressions of Kerala and its people. You were a wonderful and heartful guide to theyyam. During our stay in Kannur we could get a little impression of the dephtsan beauty of theyyam.

READ MORE

benoîtguillaume

herei am, back in france.
i could have scanned the images of theyyam that i made during the few days i spent there with you, Krishnan, and mrMarayanan too. here are the images …….. Feel free to use the images if you want to, with my name mentionned somewhere

READ MORE

Theodore Kaye, Taiwan

My stay in and around Cheruvathur was wonderful. I experienced and recorded many wonderful performances. I do have a number of questions about what I saw and how everything fits together.

READ MORE

Giorgio De Martio

…. the next day is funny, as the Theyyam-day-all-night-long produced an alternative view of the time, obviously, as don’t sleep create a shift in perceiving time and landscape, other people. They have been deliciously nice and attentive

READ MORE

Cathy Scholl

Dear Santhosh,I was also not expecting to be in Vengara last night but I am very happy to have been there! I was planning to go to Cherukunnu but when I called Vineesh he said he was in Vengara.

READ MORE

Anna Weiss

Staying with the Kodakkad family has been a suprising and wonderful experience. When I was planning my trip, I never expected that I would be so supported or so well taken care of as I have been at my homestay. The whole community here has redefined my definition of “selflessness” and it has been a joy to temporarily live in a culture that is so giving. The culture is also ancient, complex, and spectacular. Theyyam is a form of art and worship that is unlike anyting else. Nowhere else in the world are the devotees allowed to experience a manifestation of their god in human form, and with such regularity! Studying theyyam has helped me gain perspective on theater, religion, and the limits of human creativity. I speak no Malayalam and would have had a very hard time finding theyyams on my own. With the help of Narayanan, I was able to find and enjoy several…….

READ MORE

Gloria Kurnik

Hello Mr Santosh! It was amazing to see Theyyam and thank you for such a great hospitality. Sorry for not catching up but we are still traveling and have really limited access to the computer right now.

READ MORE

Professor Todd Hammond

I want to express my profound thanks for arranging the theyyam viewing for me. It was the experience of a lifetime, and I’m so glad to be introduced to this art form of the Malabar people……….. Again, thank you so much for all your help.

READ MORE

Filipe Pereira and MadinaZiganshina

Dear Santhosh, What to say but to repeat: thank you! It was a (another) fantastic experience of Theyyam. Specially the night in Taliparamba. This was for sure the best, the most authentic Theyyam related ceremony we had the opportunity to assist.

READ MORE

Marco

thank you to permitted me to live e such great experience. Everything was perfect: all people I met was generous, hospital e kind. I felt really loved like only in India is possible. I feel a lot of gratitude for Anandan, his family, his friends, and for all unknown people who welcomed me like a friend that for long time was away from home.

READ MORE

JustynaZielinska

We would like to thank you very, very much for the wonderful time that we had during our stay in Kannur. Thank you for the fantastic guide you have appointed, who was so kind, helpful, professional and careful, and helped us to see the real Theyyam.

READ MORE

Meunier.sabine

The trip was nice and we enjoyed the 2 theyyam performances that we attended

READ MORE

Jean Marie

I am very happy. I seen many theyyam in small temples in villages with Suresh. No crowded, as I like. It was wonderful.

READ MORE

RafalZiejewski

Thank you very much for your wishes. Happy New Year too! It’s a great news that your website is ranked as no 1. Actually It didn’t surprised me at all.

READ MORE

Carly Nichols

Carly Nichols attending theyyam was BY FAR the best thing i did while i was in kerala!! TravelKannur was so nice and helpful in facilitating my attendance at these absolutely magnificent performances–words, pictures, videos do not do the experience justice.

READ MORE
katherine

Katherine from USA

I am a middle aged female college professor, and was traveling with a former student (woman) who was assisting me on a grant project. As two women traveling alone who wanted to experience a Theyyam, this was the perfect solution. It was my second Theyyam, my partner’s first. At first our guide wanted to take us to a big “parade” (sounded like more of a tourist version of Theyyam)- but I told him we wanted something simple and authentic, and he definitely delivered.
There were some issues with things that were supposedly included in the price, etc. Be clear about what is included. The description said he’d pick us up at the train (which he did)and also drop us back at the train (which he tried to say would be extra

READ MORE

Olivia from UK

Difficult to describe. Has to be seen to be believed. A spiritual extravaganza with amazing make-up and costumes. Lucky enough to see one in the afternoon, so didn’t have to stay up all night.

READ MORE

Seafare74 from California

Theyyams are Hindu ceremonies that are open to tourists but not really geared towards them. We were the only non Hindus present in the extremely crowded small temple. The ceremony lasted about 45 minutes and was interesting to watch when it could be seen through the crowd.

READ MORE

From Poland

Given that this kind of ancient ritualistic event only takes place in this part of Kerala, being here and not witnessing Theyyam would be a crime comparable to visiting Athens and ignoring the acropolis.

READ MORE

PA306 from UK

We were fortunate enough to witness a Theyam ritual involving the dancer kicking hot coals with his bare feet. The locals were so friendly and offered us food every 10 minutes!

READ MORE